My Websites

Leave a comment

October 18, 2012 by skyebecks

As well as studying for my degree, I am a working photographer, so I do already have my own website. In fact, I have two sites, one for corporate and commercial work and the other for lifestyle (portraits, weddings etc..). My current websites are:

www.rebeccasykesphotography.co.uk

Screen Shot 2013-04-04 at 17.15.44This is a screen shot of my home page. I have several images to welcome the viewer to my site and a little bit about what kind of photography services I can offer.

Screen Shot 2013-04-04 at 17.16.43This is my title bar. I have seven pages on my website altogether (including the home page). The contact page is not a form, but has my business address, phone number and email address on. The email address is linked up so they can click on it and send me an email straight from there.

Screen Shot 2013-04-04 at 17.16.23When you first go on my gallery, you see all my images as thumbnails. You can either start a slideshow, or you can double click on one image and it will bring it up larger so it almost fills the screen and then the rest of the gallery is underneath as small thumbnails (see picture below).

Screen Shot 2013-04-04 at 17.16.34

www.yourblushphotography.co.uk

Screen Shot 2013-04-04 at 17.17.08This is my home page for Blush Photography. It is very simple with just a single, large image and a special offer to attract a potential customer.

Screen Shot 2013-04-04 at 17.17.39There are more pages on this website as my Lifestyle work can be broken up into different sections. The contact page on this site is the same set up as Rebecca Sykes Photography.

Screen Shot 2013-04-04 at 17.17.16My main gallery page isn’t working at the moment, but I haven’t yet been able to update it. I’m not really sure what happened, I just checked my site one day and there was nothing there.

Screen Shot 2013-04-04 at 17.17.35I have a separate page for weddings and so I show my wedding images on there. Again, this needs updating as these weddings are from when I first started and I have done many more since and like to think I have improved along the way.

The websites I have at the moment are very simple, but they serve a purpose. They show potential clients my portfolio and give them contact details in case they want to get in touch with me. As I have wanted to focus more on corporate and commercial work, I re-did this website recently and updated it with work I have done this year. Unfortunately I have neglected my Blush Photography website and so I need to spend some time on that – especially to get the gallery up and running again.

Both of these websites were created on iWeb, so it was a drag and drop programme – not advanced enough for this module. It also takes me quite a while to update as I have to make changes in iWeb, then export to a folder, then put the files onto my website via ftp. I like the look of doing a website with a wordpress theme, so you can update it on the web and save the changes straight onto your site.

When I build my new website, I would really like it to be responsive and I would like to be able to have a contact form on the contact page that comes through to my email, as I think this looks more professional.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

This Bucket List

A life of experiences

Sam Garside Photography

Visit my Website at www.samgarsidephotography.co.uk

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Kabar dari Gua Kiskenda

Anom Kiskenda's official site

Visual Fragments

bits and pieces of inspiration

From a haystack

“Someday, somewhere - anywhere, unfailingly, you'll find yourself, and that, and only that, can be the happiest or bitterest hour of your life.” ― Pablo Neruda

Life, Leeds United, the Universe & Everything

#LLUUE - The United Blog With Attitude

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Gloria Hopkins' Art and Photo Journal

Fine Art Images of the Natural World

