The Photographer’s Studio – Time Lapse

Leave a comment

February 22, 2013 by skyebecks

It has taken me a few weeks, a few attempts and a couple of tutorials to make my time lapse for my website. It took me a while, but I’ve finally got to the point where I have been able to upload it both on You Tube and Vimeo!

I shot my time lapse back in November whilst I was setting up my big shoot for Major Project A. It is called ‘The Photographer’s Studio’ as that is what I named my picture that was taken on that day. The picture I set up was my interpretation of a painting by Gustave Courbet called ‘The Artist’s Studio’ and I wanted to link my picture with this painting through the title.

courbet_studio

Above, you can see the original painting and below is my interpretation, using members of my own family to create the scene.

R.Sykes - The Photographer's Studio.

As the picture is my interpretation, it is set in a Photographer’s Studio and the canvas with the landscape on has been replaced by a backdrop and a model/dancer. The dancer is recreating Degas’ famous statue ‘Little Dancer of 14 Years’. This is just another reference to art and a nod to one of the most revered artists of his time.

To create my time lapse, I used several different programmes, putting it together through different stages.

I used:

  • Aperture: Originally I imported all of my images to Aperture as this is the programme I usually use for editing my images. I could not find an option to batch crop my images, so had to crop each one individually. I tried my best to crop them all the same, but when I got to the final stages of my time lapse, you could tell they weren’t all identical as the film was quite ‘jumpy’ – technical term!

Screen Shot 2013-02-22 at 07.31.47

  • After a lot of encouragement from my tutor and members of my class, I downloaded a trial version of Lightroom and imported my images into that. I found it difficult to use, but I think that is mainly because I have never used it before and I’m so used to aperture. On Lightroom, you can batch edit, so I was able to crop one picture from my set and apply the crop to all 149!

Screen Shot 2013-02-22 at 07.25.37

  • After Effects – After cropping in Lightroom, I exported the images to a folder on my desktop. They were exported as JPegs at a size of 1920×1080 pixels. I then opened After Effects and created a new composition and imported the folder of images into After Effects. I set the frames at 25 per second, but that only give me a 6 second time lapse! So I selected time stretch and increased the film by 500% – making it around 25 seconds.

Screen Shot 2013-02-22 at 07.48.45

  • Adobe Media Encoder – After rendering and saving my composition, I opened my project in Adobe Media Encoder. I chose to use this programme as it had different settings for different place I could show my video, complete with settings for You Tube and Vimeo.

Screen Shot 2013-02-22 at 07.53.09

  • Vimeo & You Tube – After encoding my video, I uploaded it to both You Tube and Vimeo. I set up accounts with both sites a few weeks ago in preparation for my time lapse. Vimeo took a lot longer to upload than You Tube and then after it had been uploaded to my account, it went into a queue to be placed on Vimeo. Altogether, Vimeo took just over an hour and You Tube took around 7 minutes!

 

So here is my Time Lapse – on You Tube – Finally! If I have time before the end of the module, I would like to tweak it a little in After Effects and maybe add some titles to the piece. At the moment though, I am really happy with it and just glad I’ve finally got to this point!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

This Bucket List

A life of experiences

Sam Garside Photography

Visit my Website at www.samgarsidephotography.co.uk

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Kabar dari Gua Kiskenda

Anom Kiskenda's official site

Visual Fragments

bits and pieces of inspiration

From a haystack

“Someday, somewhere - anywhere, unfailingly, you'll find yourself, and that, and only that, can be the happiest or bitterest hour of your life.” ― Pablo Neruda

Life, Leeds United, the Universe & Everything

#LLUUE - The United Blog With Attitude

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Gloria Hopkins' Art and Photo Journal

Fine Art Images of the Natural World

