I have found it!! Introducing: Architecture!!

Leave a comment

March 1, 2013 by skyebecks

After months of looking on Theme Forest, checking out different themes and ‘umming’ and ‘arrring’, I have finally found my template for my website! Check it out:

http://themes.goodlayers.com/?theme=architecture

You may have noticed that this is not a theme especially for photography – which was the category I had been searching in before – but for architecture. I found it by accident, when I was searching through the most popular and recently added categories.

Screen shot 2013-04-14 at 07.10.50

I was drawn to it’s clean, crisp design. It is quite minimal, but I think it looks elegant and sophisticated. I like how the links to each page are in two columns in the top left hand corner. This is something a little different as usually I see page links either across the top of the page or down one side. I also like the little buttons that can link to social media sites – they look pretty smart.

Screen shot 2013-04-14 at 07.00.04Another positive was the fact it was fully customisable. You can make you home page – and the rest of your site – as simple or as complicated as you like. You could have just one item on your home page, or you could fill it with images, texts, information and the home page will just keep scrolling down until you have finished!

The biggest thing though was the fact that it is a fully responsive site. This is something I have been looking for in all of the templates I have liked so far, but up until now, I just haven’t found the complete package. Either a site was responsive but I didn’t like the content, or I loved the content but it wasn’t responsive. I thought I was going to have to compromise on this – but now I don’t have to!

Screen shot 2013-04-14 at 06.53.57This is a WordPress theme rather than HTML, which is what I prefer anyway. I have been looking into how I would work on this site and it is not as complicated as I first thought. Once I have linked it with my domain name (that is my next step) and server, I will be able to log on to my site (@ wordpress) and work on it and update it as often as I like. This is much easier than how I have to edit my current sites.

Screen shot 2013-04-14 at 07.11.15So where do I go from here? These are my next steps:

  • Purchase template
  • Buy a domain name
  • Find somebody to host site
  • Link domain name to server and template
  • Start working on my lovely new site!
Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

This Bucket List

A life of experiences

Sam Garside Photography

Visit my Website at www.samgarsidephotography.co.uk

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Kabar dari Gua Kiskenda

Anom Kiskenda's official site

Visual Fragments

bits and pieces of inspiration

From a haystack

“Someday, somewhere - anywhere, unfailingly, you'll find yourself, and that, and only that, can be the happiest or bitterest hour of your life.” ― Pablo Neruda

Life, Leeds United, the Universe & Everything

#LLUUE - The United Blog With Attitude

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Gloria Hopkins' Art and Photo Journal

Fine Art Images of the Natural World

